Regulations and Licensures

Click any blue labeled state code for regulations/licensure for that state. States without current regulations are not highlighted.

At this time, California is the only state that does not allow HPV testing by cytotechnologists. Tennessee permits cytotechnologists to perform molecular testing if they have a special analyst license in molecular diagnostics (i.e., MP (ASCP) certification). From time to time, other states introduce licensure legislation. Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Pennsylvania, Iowa, and Vermont have introduced legislation or are considering doing so.

The information provided here is for reference and general knowledge purposes only. Please review the full set of regulations and/or check with your legal advisor to ensure compliance.

Return to Main Menu